Did St Patrick pray in Tongues?

CREDO

abbey sheep

In The Confession 24, 25, Patrick records hearing a strange language being prayed by the Holy Spirit in a dream.

And another night – God knows, I do not, whether within me or beside me – most elegant words which I heard and could not understand, except at the end of the speech it was represented thus: ‘He who gave his life for you, he it is who speaks within you.’ And thus I awoke, joyful.

Such an interesting passage, revealing a profound prayer life. It would appear to echo the end of the passage in 2 Corinthians 12:2 where Paul writes:   I know a person in Christ who fourteen years ago was caught up to the third heaven—whether in the body or out of the body I do not know; God knows.

In the midst of this mystical experience, he hears but cannot understand some most elegant…

View original post 434 more words

  1. Laisser un commentaire

Laisser un commentaire

